Our guest blogger Michelle McCann

Our guest blogger Michelle McCann

A recent survey by uSwitch has found that many new mothers are being forced back to work by money worries and concerns over debt – one in ten (9%) mums are having to cut their maternity leave short in order to make ends meet, while over half of mums returning to work do so because of financial constraints.

So we asked mum and blogger Michelle McCann (also known as Mamma McCann) to give us her take on the financial pressure that becoming a parent can

...and her daughter Izzy

...and her daughter Izzy

bring in this special guest blog post:

“Me and my husband planned for our baby at Christmas 2008, a month before our wedding and ridiculously thought that it would take a year to conceive and also save a decent amount. How wrong we were! I found out I was pregnant two months after our wedding and two days before my 30th birthday in 2009. We frantically tried to save enough to kit out a nursery as well as cover the expenses of running our household.

“As much as we saved we seemed to spend on items for the baby and just general household needs. We continued to have lodgers to help with our mortgage costs. After my first statutory maternity pay check it quickly became apparent that we would not be able to do much this summer, in fact nothing at all. We’d already had to cut out birthday presents, Christmas presents…in fact any kind of present. We have had generous family who have kitted our little one with new clothes and toys. It really is amazing that as much as you can plan for the expense of a baby it never really hits home until you bring your bundle of joy home.

“I have loved the six months me and my baby have had to bond but now I am nearing my return to work I know that I will miss her so much. Financially needs must. Even with nursery fees we are in a much better financial position then we are now. We’ll be able to do things with baby and as she grows more aware, even though I have less time with her, we’ll all have a better quality of life.

“I am lucky in the fact I did get 18 weeks at the equivalent to 90% pay. All mums get SMP for approximately 39 weeks. I would have been able to take the entire year off if it had been better evenly spread or thoroughly enjoyed my six months if the amount of SMP was reduced from 9 months to 6 months and paid at a higher amount. As it is from 3 months of age to 6 months we were worrying about money and forgoing even the littlest of luxuries.

“But if there was a never ending pot of money then I would love to be exploring and having adventures with her!”

