Turning the heating on... Image by Musée McCord Museum via Flickr

Turning the heating on... Image by Musée McCord Museum via Flickr

OK, I’ll come clean – I turned my central heating on last night.

I tried putting on extra layers, I sat under a blanket, I got a hot water bottle, but in the end there was nothing else for it – I was freezing!

I’m slightly ashamed to admit it – I usually manage to hold out until the end of October, and I think there’s definitely a competitive element to when we decide to give in and turn the heating on. There’s always someone who wants to prove how tough and impervious to cold they are by being the last one to switch the heating on.

For me, the heating going on signifies the end of good weather and being able to leave the house without a coat and the beginning of at 5 or 6 months of short, dark days and cold and rainy weather. When you think about it like that it’s hardly surprising that I would have preferred to put off flicking the switch for just a little bit longer!

Switching on your heating is a good trigger to get yourself organised for the winter in terms of energy.  For example by making sure you’ve got the cheapest energy tariff to help keep the winter bills to a minimum and also making sure that your boiler and central heating system are in good working order.

Here are some articles that might help you get prepared for the colder weather that’s just around the corner:

